IISER Admission 2024

General Information about IISERs

The Government of India has established the IISERs at Berhampur, Bhopal, Kolkata, Mohali, Pune, Thiruvananthapuram, and Tirupati to integrate and promote interdisciplinary science education and research. Over the years, the IISERs have been successfully attracting talented young minds. An overarching goal of the IISERs is to enable students to shape the nation by inventing and implementing sustainable solutions for societal problems through research in science. This is being achieved by our faculty of international repute together with bright students. In a short span of time, the IISERs have generated an incredible amount of intellectual property in the form of publications and patents.

Read More
Fake Universities UGC Public Notice

The University Grants Commission Act, 1956; under Section 22 stipulated that:
“( I ) The right of conferring or granting degrees shall be exercised only by a University established or incorporated by or under a Central Act, a Provincial Act or a State Act or an institution deemed to be a University under Section 3 or an institution specially empowered by an Act of Parliament to confer or grant degrees.

Save as provided in sub-Section (1), no person or authority shall confer, or grant, or hold himself or itself out as entitled to confer or grant, any degree……,
Further, Section 23 of the UGC Act prohibits the use ofthe word ‘University’ by any institution other than a
university established as stated above.
Students and Public at large are hereby informed that presently following 21 self-styled, unrecognized
institutions which are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act, have been declared as fake universities
and these are not empowered to confer any degree.

Karntaka, Maharashtra, Puduchery, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, West bengal and Kerala also have fake universities on the list

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has issued a list of fake universities in the country.

Across the country, 21 institutions have been listed as fake and not empowered to confer any degree, majority of which are in Delhi followed by Uttar Pradesh.

“At least 21 self-styled, unrecognised institutions which are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act, have been declared as fake universities and these are not empowered to confer any degree,” UGC Secretary Rajnish Jain said.

One institution in Puducherry, Sri Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, has also been included in the list.

The list includes eight institutions in Delhi, followed by four in Uttar Pradesh, and two each in Odisha and West Bengal. One institution in Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh have also been featured.

Fake universities in Delhi

  1. All India Institute of Public and Physical Health Sciences
  2. Commercial University Ltd. Daryaganj
  3. United Nations University
  4. Vocational University
  5. ADR-Centric Juridical University
  6. Indian Institution of Science and Engineering
  7. Viswakarma Open University for Self-Employment
  8. Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University)

Fake universities in Uttar Pradesh

  1. Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith
  2. National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy
  3. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Univirsity (open university)
  4. Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad

Source: https://www.thehindu.com